Technical Program

Program Sessions: Wednesday May 29th 9:30 AM – 12:35 PM

Session 6: Thermal-Mechanical Reliability Simulations
Committee: Thermal/Mechanical Simulation & Characterization
Room: Summit 4-5

Session Co-Chairs:

Wei Wang
Clemson University
Email: [email protected]

Karsten Meier
TU Dresden
Email: [email protected]


1. Modeling and Optimization of Thermal Cycling Performance to Reduce Ratcheting-Induced Passivation Cracking in High-Voltage Power Modules
Bill Chen — ON Semiconductor
Yong Liu — ON Semiconductor

2. Interfacial Reliability and Predictive Models for Potted Board Assemblies in Inclined 25000 g Mechanical Shock
Pradeep Lall — Auburn University
Aathi Pandurangan — Auburn University
Padmanava Choudhury — Auburn University
Ken Blecker — US Army
Jeff Suhling — Auburn University

3. A Novel Approach to Assess Board Level Solder Joint Reliability for Flip Chip on Leadframe Package Using Finite Element Analysis
Guangxu Li — Texas Instruments, Inc.
Siva Gurrum — Texas Instruments, Inc.
Frank Mortan — Texas Instruments, Inc.
Li Jiang — Texas Instruments, Inc.
Carlos Arroyo — Texas Instruments, Inc.

4. A Robust Mesh Size Control Technology Suitable for Various Empirical Equations for Predicting Solder Joint Reliability
Kuo-Ning Chiang — National Tsing Hua University
C. E Lee — National Tsing Hua University
Cadmus Yuan — Feng Jia University

5. Multi-Material Corner Singularity in Electronic Packaging: Avoiding Mesh Dependence in Analyzing Stress
Yaxiong Chen — NXP Semiconductor, Inc.
Torsten Hauck — NXP Semiconductor, Inc.
Ganesh Subbarayan — Purdue University

6. Bayesian Optimization of Large Glass Package Architecture for System-Level Reliability in High-Performance Computing Applications
Emanuel Torres Surillo — Georgia Institute of Technology
Christian Molina-Mangual — Georgia Institute of Technology
Pratik Nimbalkar — Georgia Institute of Technology
Hyunggyu Park — Georgia Institute of Technology
Ramon Sosa — Georgia Institute of Technology
Vanessa Smet — Georgia Institute of Technology

7. Prediction of Moisture Absorption Characteristics Under Normal/Accelerated Preconditioning Condition in Multi-Chip Packages
Hyunggyun Noh — Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd.
Jinsoo Bae — Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd.
Keunho Rhew — Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd.
Soojin Yoo — Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd.
Jiyoung Lim — Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd.
Yuchul Hwang — Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd.
Sangwoo Pae — Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd.