Technical Program

Program Sessions: Thursday May 30th 9:30 AM – 12:35 PM

Session 15: Novel Materials and Process for Hybrid Bonding
Committee: Materials & Processing
Room: Crest 3-5

Session Co-Chairs:

Ivan Shubin
Raytheon Technologies
Email: [email protected]

Dwayne Shirley
Marvel Semiconductor
Email: [email protected]


1. Towards Standardization of Hybrid Bonding Interface: In-Depth Study of Dielectrics on Direct Bonding
Yi Yang — Intel Corporation
Xavier F. Brun — Intel Corporation
Marco Flores — Arizona State University
Marc Weber — Washington State University

2. Demonstration of Low Temperature Cu-Cu Hybrid Bonding Using a Novel Thin Polymer
Yasuhisa Kayaba — Mitsui Chemicals, Inc.
Takuo Shikama — Mitsui Chemicals, Inc.
Wataru Okada — Mitsui Chemicals, Inc.
Kahori Tamura — Mitsui Chemicals, Inc.
Yuzo Nakamura — Mitsui Chemicals, Inc.
Yutaka Hisamune — Mitsui Chemicals, Inc.
Rikia Furusho — Mitsui Chemicals, Inc.

3. Process Challenges in Thin Wafers Fabrication With Double Side Hybrid Bond Pads for Chip Stacking
Dileep Kumar Mishra — Institute of Microelectronics A*STAR
Nagendra Sekhar Vasarla — Institute of Microelectronics A*STAR
Chandra Rao Bhesetti — Institute of Microelectronics A*STAR
Ser Choong Chong — Institute of Microelectronics A*STAR
Srinivasa Rao Vempati — Institute of Microelectronics A*STAR

4. Development of Low Temperature Processable Polyimides for Organic Hybrid Bonding Applications
Kota Nomura — Toray Industries, Inc.
Masaya Jukei — Toray Industries, Inc.
Takenori Fujiwara — Toray Singapore Research Center
Hitoshi Araki — Toray Industries, Inc.
Tomoyuki Honda — Toray Industries, Inc.
Yu Shoji — Toray Industries, Inc.

5. Effect of (111) Surface Ratio on the Bonding Quality of Cu-Cu Joints
Huang Jian-Yuan — National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University
Chen Chih — National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University

6. Copper Microstructure Optimization for Fine Pitch Low Temperature Cu/SiO2 Hybrid Bonding
Marie Maubert — Grenoble Alps University/CEA-LETI
Mathilde Gottardi — Grenoble Alps University/CEA-LETI
Pierre-Emile Philip — Grenoble Alps University/CEA-LETI
Emilie Fragnaud — Grenoble Alps University/CEA-LETI
Gilles Romero — Grenoble Alps University/CEA-LETI
Arnaud Cornelis — Grenoble Alps University/CEA-LETI
Hadi Hijazi — Grenoble Alps University/CEA-LETI
Frank Fournel — CEA-LETI
Maria-Luisa Calvo-Muñoz — CEA-LETI

7. Multi-Tier Die Stacking Through Collective Die-to-Wafer Hybrid Bonding
Koen Kennes — imec
Ye Lin — imec
Samuel Suhard — imec
Pieter Bex — imec
Dieter H. Cuypers — imec
Alice Guerrero — Brewer Science, Inc.
Dennis Bumueller — SUSS MicroTec GmbH
Alain Phommahaxay — imec
Gerald Beyer — imec
Eric Beyne — imec